Watoto Children Excel At The Children’s Bible Quiz

Peter Segawa, a primary 6 pupil from Watoto’s Bbira Children’s Village emerged the overall winner, outwitting more than 40 others at the annual Watoto Church Children’s Bible Yare.

The adrenalin-gripping event drew children between 7 – 14 years from the 9 Watoto Church celebration points in Uganda to compete in a heated bible challenge.
“I am so excited; I don’t even have words to express my joy. I love the gifts I was rewarded with; and I’m going to share them with my friends,” he said.

The competition kicked off with a dance performance by Watoto’s Kid Power dance group after which, the rules of the competition were laid down to usher the participants into the competition.

And as the day progressed, participants dropped off with the competition getting stiffer with each round. Gifts including scholastic material, bibles and mobile phones were awarded to children who stood out in the challenge.

The event was sponsored by Rwenzori Mineral Water, Cellular Services and Bank Of Africa, who donated a bull to the winning Watoto Church celebration point.

“I thank God and Auntie Maria, the pastor to the children in Bbira for teaching me and helping me to win,” said Peter. A visibly excited Auntie Maria said they owed the victory to God and late night bible study. They are currently planning a victory party for the village where they will roast the bull.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

