World Aids Day – Frederick Ankunda

Frederick’s parents died of AIDS when he was a little boy. For a few months his grandparents took care of him, but they died too.

After local authorities contacted Watoto, Frederick and his siblings were settled into a family at Watoto’s Suubi Village. “I remember being so excited because I was told that I would be able to go to school. I was thrilled about the new environment. I had never seen anything like it before,” Frederick recalls.

Frederick, now 21, is studying Catering and Hotel management at the Vocational School in the Watoto village.

He majors in Baking and looks forward to working in a big hotel in Uganda for work experience, and then starting his own restaurant. Aside from cooking, his other passion is music, which he speaks about passionately.

“Since childhood I knew I loved music. When I was selected to travel with the Watoto Children’s Choir in 2006, I looked at it, not only as an opportunity to be an ambassador, but also as a platform to improve on my singing. Choir gave me the first step that I needed towards becoming a musician. The daily vocal training taught me how to control my voice – a key component to becoming a good musician,” he says.

Frederick started up a music group that occasionally sings on Sunday’s in church and also during school events.

“Starting the Gifted Boys group has been the first step towards me achieving my dream. As the leader of the group, I compose the songs we sing. I have written a number of songs and believe that, with the right support, I will be able to start singing professionally,” says Frederick.

When he isn’t playing the guitar during his leisure time, Frederick enjoys basketball and helping his mom in the kitchen.

Frederick-chilling-out

Today, World AIDS Day (1 December 2014), we’re asking you to change the stories of other AIDs-effected children like Frederick by sponsoring a child. Click here and change a story today.

Leave a Reply

